
The Penalty Side of the Negative Double 

The Re-Opening Double 

When your Partnership decides to use the Negative Double you lose the option of Doubling an 
OverCall for Penalty.  For Example:   You hold ♠ AQTxx ♥x  ♦xxx ♣AJxx  and Partner Opens 1♦.  You 
were already to bid 1♠ but RHO bids 1♠.  Huh?  You can’t Double, that would show 4♥’s, so you are 
forced to Pass; it is called a Trap Pass. 

Next, anytime your Partner passes your Opening bid after an OverCall you should think Trap Pass 
and consider Doubling if RHO passes as well.  Think of it as a Forcing Pass.  The Double in this case 
is called a Re-Opening Double, some refer to it as a Balancing Double;  Here's the bidding situation 
we are referring to:  1♦ – 1♥ – P –P; ?    Note the ? Is in the Pass out seat.  Most times, when  a player 

bids in the Pass-Out seat his Partner has to try to decide if it is indeed an attempt to seek Balance or a 
strength showing bid.  Seeking Balance refers to the idea that if every one is passing at a low level, 
the HCP’s are likely to be even so that it may be anybody’s part-score to have.  So bidding something 
in the Pass-Out seat, even a Double, rather than passing ( and allowing opponent's low level contract 
to hold) when holding a minimum hand, is called balancing.  Wht a minimum hand? If you have the 

power your going to bid anyway.  If you Double it is called a re-opening Double – and that usually 
shows a big hand, but not always. 

Some players say a Re-Opening Double should always be exercised in this situation, however, the 
person in the Pass-Out seat has to use some judgment.  For example if he, as opener, is holding a 
minimum hand and some values in the opponents suit the likelihood of Partner's Pass being a Trap is 
far diminished.  If he and the another bidder are holding 8 or 9 Cards in that suit, Partner is not likely to 
have a Trump Stack – i.e. a lot of the opponents suit.  But if Partner couldn't support your suit or show 
his suit perhaps it is because his suit was the one bid by the opponent.  The Opener and his Partner 
have been put 'on the spot' by the OverCaller.  So If holding a minimum hand the Opener can't bid a 
second suit should he sell out or Double forcing Partner to Respond?  In fact we have another rule to 
help the Responder make the decision: is my partners Double forcing or should I really Pass? 

The first question for the player in the Pass-Out seat: To or not to exercise the Re-Opening 

Double.  Lets look at another example of the decision that confronts the Opener who is now in the 
Pass-Out seat.  The bidding has gone 1♠ – 2♥– P – P;  ?   Partner’s Pass may have been for two 

reasons: 

1. Partner has no values!  This is what we usually think when Partner passes our Open..    or 

2. Partner has a ♥ Stack and wanted to Double but that bid would have been interpreted as 
offering at least 4-4 in the Minors.  He didn’t have the 4-4 or support and so is forced to Pass. 

What to do?  How can we find out which is the case?  Is it #1 or #2?  Here’s the guideline for Opener: 

1. Exercise a Re-Opening Double,  Opener holds 2 or less Cards in OverCallers suit.  Since 
Advancer didn’t support the OverCall he likely doesn't have 3-Card support.  If that is the case 
then there is an excellent chance that Responder's Pass was a Trap-Pass. 

2. Pass. Completing the auction on the inference that your holding of 3-Cards lessens the chance 
that Partner exercised a Trap-Pass and doesn’t have values.  This is the normal option if 
Opener has a minimum hand and no second suit.   

3. Any other bid by Opener means he has the values to go it alone (she’s independently 
wealthy). i.e. has some extra values and a good second suit. 

  Rule of Nine – for Partner of Re-Open Doubler 

Once an Opener executes the Re-Opening Double Responder is put on the spot.  Should she 
accept the Double as a Penalty Double or a true Re-Opening Double?  This is where the Rule of 9 



comes into play.  To determine the ‛what to do now’  one employs the Rule: which states Take the 
current level of the bid; Add to that the number of Cards held in Opponent suit; Add to that the number 
of Honors held in that suit.  If the sum of those three items is 9 or more Pass and accept the Double as 
a Penalty Double.  If the sum is less than 9, find a bid, either support Openers suit or bid your best 
suit.  Here’s a concrete example using the last bidding sequence: 

1♠– 2♥ – P – P;  X – P – P – ?       P  implies no ♠ support and not 4-4 in Minors (Negative Double) 

You are holding ♠xx ♥AQxxx ♦xxx ♣xxx         Apply the Rule of 9 

Start with the current level :   2,   Opponent bid 2♥ 
Add the number of ♥ held:        5 + 2 = 7,     Cards in Opponents suit  
Add the number of Honors in suit:  2 + 7 = 9 → Pass and play 2♥ Doubled.  The Re-opening double 
was indeed suggesting it was for penalty because we arrived at 9 or more. 
If your holding had been ♠Ax ♥Q987 ♦xxxx ♣Qxx 

Add the current level :    2, 
Add the number of ♥ held:        4 + 2 = 6, 
Add the number of Honors:   1+ 6 = 7 → Bid 3♦  

 

 



Other Kinds of Doubles 
Players over the years have invented numerous uses for low-level Doubles that have nothing at all 

to do with Penalties.  It takes a very strong hand and great Partnership defense to survive low-level 
Doubles consistently, so most players use these Doubles for special purposes.  We have already seen 
the Take-Out, the Negative, the Re-Opening Double.  There are many more but we want to show you 
two more since they are on your Convention Card.   All low-level Doubles are Conventional since they 
really don’t serve the purpose of what Doubles are suppose to mean, Penalty.  Convention they are  
but the three we have seen are so common they are neither Alert-able or Announce-able.  Of the 
following two, only Support Doubles are Alert-able.  Responsive Doubles are not. 

  Responsive Double 

The Responsive Double is the Advancer’s counterpart to the Responders Negative Double.  We are 
looking at bidding sequences that start like 1♦ – X– 1♥ – ?; or 1♥ – X – 2♥ – ?.  In any such sequence 
if the Advancer doesn’t have 5-Card suit to show Partner he might have two 4-Card suits and it would 
be nice if there was a way to show them.  There is –  the Responsive Double.  There are three 
possibilities: 

 Opponents bid a Major and a Minor with Partner executing a TOD in-between.  A double by the 
Advancer shows at least 4-4 in the two unbid suits.  

 Opponents Open and show support for a single suit: 

 If Opponents suit is a Minor – Responsive Double shows 4-4 in the Majors 1♦ – X– 2♦ – 
? 

 If Opponents suit is a Major –  Responsive Double shows 4-4 in the Minors 1♥ – X– 2♥ 
– ? 

Note:  There is no way to show 4-4 in a Major and a Minor in single suit  response cases. 

How can I remember this?  A Negative Double is the tool  for Opener/ Responder 
            The Responsive Double is the OverCall/Advancer’s tool. 
            Both show similar type hands!! – 4-4 in unbid suits or Majors or 
Minors 

In effect the Responsive Double tells Partner: “You Choose between my two suits.”  

 Support Double 

Consider this sequence 1♦ – P– 1♥ – 1♠;  ?.  The Responder's 1♥ bid only promises a 4-Card suit 
(he might indeed have 5 but who’s to know?)  The Opener  ♠xx ♥AQ9 ♦AKxx ♣Jxxx could have Rebid 
1NT if he had a ♠ stopper, but without the stopper and not having 4♥’s to support  his Partners 
Response Opener is in a quandary.  The almost ubiquitous bid, the Double, to the rescue.  In this 
position, i.e. a rebid of Double by Opener shows exactly 3-Card support for Responder's suit.  Of 
course, if Opener had held 4♥’s the Magic-8 has been found but with 3♥’s the Opener is only sure that 
there is a 7-Card fit.  With the availability of the Support Double, if the Responder holds a 5-Card suit 
he now knows that the Partnership has the Magic-8 and continues appropriately else with 7-Card fit he 
has a decision to make.  We can now note that the support Double can be used even if Opener has a 
(in this example) a ♠ stopper, 

 Maximal Double 

Consider this situation.  You have a good but  minimum hand (14-15 PP) and open 1♠, your LHO 

OverCalls 2♦ then your partner shows support by bidding 2♠ and RHO bids 3♦.  It appears that 

the HCPs are about evenly divided;  your suit is solid but you can't see how you can defeat the 



3♦ contract to get a better score than you would for making 3♠ .  You want to be competitive 

but if you bid 3♠ Partner is likely to assume that your hand is better and take you on to Game; 
but you just want to be competitive without suggesting Game – you can't bid 3♠.  How can you 

force Partner to bid 3♠?  You Double, of course!  It's a low-level Double (low-level usually 

means below 3♠) but it's not a negative Double – you're not responding to Partners Open; it's 

not a Takeout Double – you Opened; it's not a Support or Responsive Double – your Partner 

didn't bid a different suit; it's not a re-opening Double – Partner supported your suit.  If LHO 

doesn't remove the double, by Passing, Partner is obligated to bid (the bidding is still below 

3♠).  You are telling, really forcing, Partner to bid 3♠.   The Maximal Double asks Partner to 

bid what you wanted to bid yourself; you have said “I have a minimum hand and not interested 

in Game, I just want to be competitive .”  Watch vulnerability, this bid is particular effective in 

favorable vulnerability conditions (you no, them yes).  Another example: Opponents open 1♥ – 

and you OverCall 1♠:  1♥ – 1♠ – 2♥ – P;  P – 2♠ – P – 3♥;  P – X – P – ?. 

In both examples if our intent was to invite Game, we would bid the 3-level ourselves. The fact that 
we exercised a low-level Double implies it is a maximal Double. 


