
An Opportunist’s Way to Respond to Partner
The Negative Double

Recall, first, that the Responder is the Opening Bidder’s Partner.  If the Opener's LHO doesn’t Bid, the 
Responses available are those outline in Chapter 6.  If, however, the Responder's RHO 
OverCalls, a much wider ability to describe his hand is now offered the Responder.  Let’s look at 
three hands: a) ♠K7 ♥AJT5 ♦J75 ♣T752;    b) ♠K7 ♥AQJT9 ♦J75 ♣T72  and c) ♠K7 ♥AQJ9 ♦JT75 
♣T72. Partner Opens with 1♣ and RHO Bids 1♠.   

(a)’s 9 HCP restricts his non-support Bid to the 1-level so the 1♠ OverCall has shut out the Responder;
but there is a way for Responder to show his 4♥’s.  She does it with an X, a Negative Double.  
♠K7 ♥AJT5 ♦J75 ♣T752.  The bid is totally artificial but importantly the Responder isn't bidding at 
the 2-level.

(b)’s hand has 10+ HCP and 5♥; he bids 2♥.  This bid was possible with or without the availability of 
the Negative Double.  Note: A Responder Bidding 2♥ over 1♠ always, repeat ALWAYS, promises 
5♥’s and 10+ HCP.  We call it the ‛five and dime bid’.  e.g. ♠K7 ♥AQJT9 ♦J75 ♣T72.  

(c)’s hand has the same number of HCP as (b), but only 4♥’s therefore the 2♥ Bid is not available.  It 
sure would be nice, however, to be able to show the ♥ suit. ♠K7 ♥AQJ9 ♦JT75 ♣T72. He can by 
bidding X.

(a) and (c) are opportunity Bids, both pass information that would be impossible without the availability
of the Negative Double;  and, of course, the intervening bid.  It is important to note that the 
negative double allows the differentiation between the holding of 4 and 5 cards in a Major.  Here is
another set of holdings and bids to illustrate this most important aspect of the negative double.  In 
both cases Partner open in 1-of-a-Minor and next the opponent Overcalls with a Major. In one 
case you hold 4♠'s and in the other you hold 5.  Your Partner starts the bidding 1♣ – 1♥ – ?

 a) ♠KJ87 ♥AJT5 ♦T75 ♣T7    b) ♠KJ872 ♥AJT5 ♦T7 ♣T7  

In (a) you have just 4♠'s so you Double to show that fact. In (b) you have an identical hand except 
now you have 5♠'s you bid 1♠

Bidding the unbid Major shows you hold 5; Doubling shows you only have 4.  In this example the 
problem imposed by the 5-10 rule didn't impose itself.  Let's change the Majors where it does... 
Partner starts the bidding 1♣ – 1♠– ?

     a) ♠KJ8 ♥AJT9 ♦Q75 ♣T73    b) ♠K98 ♥AJT54 ♦T7 ♣T73   In a) you have 10+ HCP but only 4♥'s so
you can't bid 2♥; and in b) you have 5♥'s but can't bid 2♥ because you don't have 10 HCP.    
Problem solved you can tell Partner that you have at least 4 ♥'s by Doubling.  That's the power of 
the Negative Double.

   Other Applications of the Negative Double

In all the following cases the Negative Double requires 6+ HCP.

1.  We've already seen when Partner Opens with 1♣ and RHO Bid of 1♥ provides another opportunity 
Bid.  A Negative Double allows the Responded to differentiate between a holding that includes 
either 4♠’s or 5♠’s.    1♠ → implies  5♠’s  and X → implies  4♠’s

2.  Partner Opens 1♣ and RHO Bids 1♦:  A Bid of either 1♠ or 1♥ implies a 4-Cards in the suit.  But 
only one suit can be shown with this way.  X implies 4+Cards in the both unbid suits.

3.  In the previous example we saw that a Negative Double after both Minors have been Bid shows at 
least 4-4 in both Majors.  The reverse is also true if a ♠ and a ♥ are Bid then X implies a holding at
least 4-4 in the Minors.

4.  When a Minor and a Major have been bid the Negative Double always shows at least 4 in the other Major!  
Even though 4 in the other Minor should be expected it often isn't there.  That's OK!
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